Chinese Studies in Würzburg

Institute of East and South Asian Cultural Studies, Sinology


Recent History and Staff

Research and teaching of Chinese studies at the University of Würzburg dates back to 1965. The chair for Language and Literature of the Far East (C4) was first held by Hans Steininger from 1965 to 1985 and later by Dieter Kuhn (1988 to 2009). A second professorship for Modern China (C3), which was held by Raimund Th. Kolb, existed between 1997 and 2011. After 2009 Dr. Helga Stahl served as acting chair for Chinese studies until, in late 2012, Prof. Dr. Roland Altenburger was appointed to this chair, which was renamed Chair for East Asian Cultural History.

In autumn 2007 the appointment of Prof. Dr. Björn Alpermann as junior professor for Contemporary Chinese Studies signalled the growing importance attributed to social science research within the Chinese studies programmes at Würzburg University. The junior professorship was upgraded to a chair for Contemporary Chinese Studies in early 2013.

In order to also address the growing importance of China’s economy and the increased demand for related research and teaching, in 2011 the university established a new chair for China Business and Economics at the Institute of East and South Asian Cultural Studies to which Prof. Dr. Doris Fischer was appointed in spring 2012. This chair is also affiliated with the department of economics.

The Chinese studies department with its currently three chairs is part of the Institute of East and South Asian Cultural Studies within the Faculty of Arts I.


no news in this list.